Does destroy documents, delete documents from the data folder on the server? I have deleted the documents permanently but the storage size has not reduced.
This depends on the database engine that the vault uses:
Yes, the recommendation mentioned in the user guide is to run it 1-4 times a year.
Vault will be taken offline for the duration, like it says in the user guide.