Change permissions to read only in workflow state for users that where allowed to edit in previous state

A document workflow has two states "Draft" and "Approved". When document is in workflow state "approved", I want it to be read only for the users that were allowed to edit in the previous workflow state (draft). When an update is required, and the document is moved from "Approved" to "Draft" ,  I want to allow edit for the set of users that had read only access in "Approved" workflow state. 

Can this be achieved when permissions are defined manually?