The M-Files Community will be updated on Tuesday, April 2, 2024 at 10:00 AM EST / 2:00 PM GMT and the update is expected to last for several hours. The site will be unavailable during this time.

This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Compare two multi-select properties

Hello,

I am new to vbscripts, I would like help with a code example of two multi-selection properties, in one of the properties invoice numbers are stored and in the other the pdf of the invoices that also have their respective numbers by name. I would like to compare those two properties, when they are equal they give me as a result a true value in a property.

Please help.

Thanks,

Parents
  • Hey Johnny, 

I'm looking to see if we have any samples to provide you. This use case has some interesting caveats I think which I'd like to confirm.  Given the fact that multiple invoices could be in both properties there is no guaranty the order is going to match, so doing a strict text comparison is out.  Likely getting the values for each property and then iterating through each is going to be required.  Since these are drop downs, we're also dealing with Lookups and these will return the IDs for each of the objects.  Setting up search conditions to return the values of each property's individual values as text and then comparing them is going to be required since we're dealing with different lists and we can't simply compare the IDs directly.  Let me see if we have any examples I can share and get back with you later today.

In the meantime, have you taken a look at our developer portal? 

https://developer.m-files.com/Built-In/VBScript/ 

Tom

• Hey Johnny,