Automatic Comment pop-up window state change suppression

Just throwing this out there, is there any option to suppress the comment dialogue box when a user changes state?

I know that the comment box is automatic, and I personally don't mind clicking okay and not entering a comment with a state change, but I do have some colleagues who are currently processing 15,000 applications through M-Files in the next 3 months, so they're finding the extra click tedious.

I'm not aware of a way to suppress comments on a state change within a specific workflow?

  • You can configure the comment popup behavior with the following registry setting on the client computer. This will affect all workflows in all vaults on that computer.

    Registry Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Motive\M-Files\<version>\Client\MFShell\<vault>
    Value name: ShowChangeStateUI
    Value type: REG_DWORD (DWORD 32-bit Value)
    Value data:
    0 = disabled (comment dialog never shown)
    1 = enabled everywhere (common dialog always shown) (DEFAULT)
    2 = the traditional/legacy way (dialog shown when performing state transition from task pane, not from metadata card)
    3 = opposite of 2 (dialog shown when performing state transition from metadata card, not from task pane)

  • Just did this, and it works. I set it back to value 2

    Thanks so much!

  • You can configure the comment popup behavior with the following registry setting on the client computer. This will affect all workflows in all vaults on that computer.

    Registry Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Motive\M-Files\\Client\MFShell\
    Value name: ShowChangeStateUI
    Value type: REG_DWORD (DWORD 32-bit Value)
    Value data:
    0 = disabled (comment dialog never shown)
    1 = enabled everywhere (common dialog always shown) (DEFAULT)
    2 = the traditional/legacy way (dialog shown when performing state transition from task pane, not from metadata card)
    3 = opposite of 2 (dialog shown when performing state transition from metadata card, not from task pane)


    Joonas, I read with great interest this comment of yours and would like to expound on it because it just might be something I was led to believe wasn't possible. On all our workflows (my users only use Web Client), when a user approves an assignment there are two comment boxes that present. The first one is the one we've been instructed to "ignore" [which users think is poor implementation] and the second one is the "actual" comment box where the user enters their password to lock in their approval.

    Do your registry instructions above remove that first comment box? My configuration contacts at M-Files have told me this was not possible, so if your instructions work, I'd be very happy.

  • The registry setting mentioned only works for the M-Files Desktop client, unfortunately.

  • The registry setting mentioned only works for the M-Files Desktop client, unfortunately.


    Bummer. But I appreciate your clarification response. Thanks, Joonas.
  • Does the solution below still apply to the current version of M-Files? 

    I'm afraid I'm enrolling 8000 documents into a new workflow, and each time I enroll a group of documents, I'm getting two confirmation messages when changing the state from the metadata card. 

    I tried to employ the same solution, but I'm uncertain as I don't see the "ShowChangeStateUI" - is it no longer an option, or can I now adjust one of the other settings? Like the TaskPaneCustomGroupStates 

    Thank you in advance!

  • It seems the registry key didn't fully survive the migration to new Community, I now edited the message above to fix it. The setting should still work, if ShowChangeStateUI doesn't exist in your registry just create it in the correct location. (M-Files uses the default behavior if no value is explicitly set in the registry.)

    If all your users need to get this setting, you can also distribute it centrally from Advanced Vault Settings in recent M-Files versions:

     

  • I was a little worried about creating an entry because it wasn't there in registry, but it did work! Set back to value 2. 

    This helps me when I need to update documents as M-Files Admin User. 

    Though I'm starting to learn the importer tool, so hopefully my days of manually retagging might soon be behind me for this purpose!